Qualifications & Working Conditions
Entry Level Officer
- You must be at least 21 years old.
- You must a United States citizen.
- You must have a valid Minnesota Drivers License (Class D), or equivalent out-of-state license with no suspensions or revocations on your record within the last two years, prior to appointment (parking-related offenses may be excluded).
- You must not have any criminal convictions of gross misdemeanor or the equivalent level.
- You must not have any felony convictions; including pardons and/or expungements (according to Minnesota Statute 364.09).
- You must not have any physical/domestic assault or eluding the police convictions.
- You must be in good physical condition.
- You must successfully complete a background investigation, psychological examination and a medical examination.
- You must be Peace Officer Standards and Training (POST) licensed or eligible to be licensed as a peace officer in the State of Minnesota, by the date of conditional offer for employment.
- If you have a college degree other than Law Enforcement, you must obtain a Law Enforcement Certificate from any eligible college/university in the State of Minnesota.
- 24-hours-a-day obligation
- Three different tours of duty
- Eight, nine or ten-hour shifts
- A Police Officer works an average of 40 hours per week